Introduction and New Build

More
04 Jul 2015 01:01 #60391 by Hunter
Hey guys, just saying hello and giving a rundown of my project that I've kicked off. Decided to post here since this is where I've spent most of my time researching hardware.

Mill:
Taig mill with rotary axis that I've blown the dust off of in the corner of my shop.

Control Hardware:
I'd originally planned to go with Mesa for building the control hardware as I have some experience from school with Altera FPGA development and understand the advantages that configurable logic systems provide both in terms of flexibility and adaptation. However after more thorough reflection on how this system was going to come together I switched gears to Pico systems as it seems to be a more straightforward setup to get running. So the Mesas will have to be a second project. Perhaps get involved in figuring out how the ethernet and high-speed USB interfaces could be made to work as the small form factor PCs take over and leave these as the only comm option.

Universal PWM Controller
4x BLDC Drivers
1x Brake board

Motors:
4x Nema 23 BLDC with 1000cpr encoders from Pico

PC:
A used/refurbished Dell Precision 390 with Core 2 Duo and external ATi card that I should be able to post latency numbers for in the coming days. Keeping my fingers crossed that a workstation class machine will produce better numbers than the enterprise machines that are reported currently.

Power:
12V will be handled by a Pico supply. No decision made on the motor driver supply

Electrical Cabinet:
No selection yet.

Coolant system:
No selection yet

I look forward to learning from all of you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Jul 2015 05:43 #60400 by tommylight