NEWS
2.6 Live+Install image
There are no translations available.

Announcing a new Live+Install DVD image for installing LinuxCNC 2.6 on Debian Wheezy. Instructions here.

 
LinuxCNC 2.6.2 Released
There are no translations available.

Bug fix see the change log.

 
LinuxCNC 2.6.1 Released
There are no translations available.

Bug fix see the change log.

 
Home Forum Configuring LinuxCNC HAL Components Can I use a C shell script for my PLC stuff?

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Can I use a C shell script for my PLC stuff?

Re:Turret question for Big John 19 Мар 2012 08:12 #18653

  • BigJohnT
  • BigJohnT's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5849
  • Thank you received: 240
  • Karma: 157
JR1050 wrote:
Big John,

You seem to have fought the chnc turret woes,so,maybe you can shed some light on a new gremlin.I had my HNC turret indexing reliably until the other day.It has developed a constant air leak on the stop cushon plug on the right side of the x axis.Strangely enough it will index to any tool except 2,it stops on 6 or 8 when t2 is called,if called from t1 or t8 ,it will index to t2.One out of six times it will land on tool 2 from any commanded tool.I beleive my logic is sound,as I can track what is happening thru halshow and it lands on every other tool every time.I beleive this is a machine side problem.
The machine is 35 years old and I suspect that every seal in it is probably shot.On your chnc,does air leak from the stop cushon constantly?Do you have any insight into what might need attention or should I go the shotgun approach and clean/replace all seals orings ect in all of the valves?Thanks for your insight.

When I converted my CHNC I replaced all the seals in the turret. Here is the thread on that. My CHNC leaks air from two places, the collet closer and the turret stop. It's so bad when the collet is open that I disconnect the hose from the closer unless it is a quick part change. My oiler does not work at all or well and the first tool change of the day misses every time... after that it never misses. Because this turret is based on time any stickiness will drive you nuts.

John
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Turret question for Big John 21 Мар 2012 16:07 #18690

  • robh
  • robh's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 122
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 21
air will always leak form the cushon due to its design, its one pain in but things about hardinge 1980-1990 machines. they did love there air stuff

some times the small clip in the cushon can come loose.. this can give problems with catching positions. as will go out too far etc..

also, might help if you put the magenet more advanced,. so you see the tool position early.. so delay on firing in the cushon is taken caroff
have ot watch it might put some tool places out of position.. but its one trick i did on 2 machines on there turrets.. helps alot..

also air presure makes a huge diff, so make sure you have a good size regulator onthe supply in so you can keep it nice and set..
like john says, any water in the line plays games the next day too.. o how we all love air logic :)

hope helps in some ways...
rob
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Turrets and Coolant 23 Мар 2012 07:59 #18744

  • JR1050
  • JR1050's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 196
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 3
Thanks to Rob for his input.Ive spent more time then I can account for trying to get the turret to land on the commanded tool,the encoder shaft has a bunch of lash in it and its enough to throw the encoder off with the magnet advanced.I let the turret over shoot and watch for the tool before the called tool,then fire the stop.It works well except for an interminent problem with tool 2,which will only land consistently from t1 or t8.For some weird reason,emc is firing the stop early and inconsistently.I will figure it out....




Next snafu,I have an external coolant button.Until I added the io coolant on pin in hal and or'd it in a comp file(shown below),it worked.The coolant works from mdi and the manual check box,but I cannot turn off the coolant(or on) with the button when its been called with M8.I cant actually get to the command in emc for the coolant.The button is momentary and is basicly setting or reacting to a state.

if((pb_cool_on)==1||(auto_cool_on)==1&&(cl_idod_on)=0)
{
cl_idod_on=1;
}
else
if((pb_cool_on)==1&&(cl_idod_on)=1)
{
cl_idod_on=0;
}

Do the halui coolant pins actually control the coolant?I saw in another post a pin named motion.coolant-flood,but i cant find it in the documentation.Suggestions?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Turrets and Coolant 23 Мар 2012 10:04 #18745

  • BigJohnT
  • BigJohnT's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5849
  • Thank you received: 240
  • Karma: 157
I have a PyVCP coolant button that works fine with M8/9 but it is done in the conventional way with HAL so it won't do you much good I'm afraid... anyway just letting you know that it works fine.

John
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Turrets and Coolant 23 Мар 2012 10:33 #18746

  • ArcEye
  • ArcEye's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 2782
  • Thank you received: 443
  • Karma: 164
Hi

These are the 2 ways of using coolant that I know of

linuxcnc.org/docs/html/gui_halui.html

(two pins are boolean state indicators and one actually turns on /off so far as I am aware)

linuxcnc.org/docs/2.5/html/man/man1/iocontrol.1.html

and motion does not list it

linuxcnc.org/docs/2.5/html/man/man9/motion.9.html

Maybe it was a not very cleverly named signal you saw?

regards
Last Edit: 23 Мар 2012 10:38 by ArcEye.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Real coolant button that works!!! 23 Мар 2012 17:33 #18748

  • JR1050
  • JR1050's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 196
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 3
After messing around with my comp file for an hour,I have the code that will allow an external actual switch,button to control the coolant in any mode.It works like F8.It will over ride m8 and m9 and vice versa along with F8 and the check box.Im share'n it,you all helped me!!!


This attachment is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.
Attachments:
  • Attachment This attachment is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 1.346 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum
© 2014 LinuxCNC.org
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.