Display and keyboard delay with 10.04

More
11 Apr 2014 01:40 #45813 by jcarpenter
I have a new install of 10.04 replacing 8.04. The Axis display has a 1/2 second delay from where the lathe is actually running at. Axis also jumps at each update instead of steady following the toolpath. Keyboard entry has a 1/2 second delay. Makes for interesting zeroing operation! I am using an Intel 1.5 Ghz processor with 1 Gb Ram. I have been running 8.04 on this Denford ORAC lathe for years. After the computer fell off a shelf (5 feet onto concrete) I had to replace the harddrive and repair the power supply. As I couldn't find my iso of 8.04 I used 10.04. Now everything is crap. Is it the new software? Do I have an undiscovered hardware failure? How do I diagnose this? I am a Linux noob.

Thanks,

John Carpenter

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Apr 2014 03:28 #45818 by jcarpenter
Well, I went back and downloaded and reinstalled 8.04. And got most of my delay removed. Probably what is left I never noticed before. Why is 10.04 such a CPU power hog? Or is somthing going on that I could fix with a settings change?

Thanks,

John C

More
11 Apr 2014 06:30 #45827 by BigJohnT
If you have an older PC often 8.04 is better than upgrading to 10.04.

JT
The following user(s) said Thank You: jcarpenter

More
11 Apr 2014 13:41 #45845 by ArcEye

As I couldn't find my iso of 8.04 I used 10.04. Now everything is crap. Is it the new software?

It is the old story of, higher numbers are not better.
Microsoft have brainwashed people to believe the opposite so that they continue to buy their newest offerings, when in truth they haven't made anything that works halfways decently since XP.

8.04 is a Ubuntu distro number, nothing to do with Linuxcnc.
The important thing about the Live CD based on this distro, is that it contains a realtime kernel built for uni-processor machines.