Can't find "menu.lst" for adding "isolcpus 2,3"

More
20 Aug 2014 21:21 - 20 Aug 2014 21:27 #50099 by eagleman
Another newbie here. I am trying to run Linuxcnc 2.5? on 10.4 and am getting a LOT of jitter on the latency test. Lucky for me I just upgraded my system to an AMD Phenom X4 with 4gb of memory on an ASUS M2A-VM Green motherboard. Also, I am expecting a new XFX AMD Radeon HD 5450 1GB GDDR3 PCI-Express Video Card to arrive today to replace an older video card. Now I find out that to reduce jitter the term " isolcpus 2,3" needs to be added to the kernel in "boot/grub.menu.lst" It's all Greek to me because I'm new to Linux, but I can't seem to find the "menu.lst" file anywhere on my PC. I've followed directories, searched the system, and read the instructions but am at a dead end. I'm trying to accomplish:

For computers using classic GRUB as the boot manager, this is accomplished by editing the file /boot/grub/menu.lst to include the boot parameter "isolcpus=1" (for example) at the end of appropriate kernel lines.

as in the instructions on:

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?The_Is..._Parameter_And_GRUB2

Where am I going wrong?
Last edit: 20 Aug 2014 21:27 by eagleman. Reason: additional system info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Aug 2014 21:48 #50101 by ArcEye
Hi

You are using 10.04 which uses GRUB2, so you are following the wrong instructions.

You want the section starting at this para

As shipped, Ubuntu distributions using GRUB2 include a set of configuration script files in the directory /etc/grub.d/ with names 00_header, 05_debian_theme, 10_linux, etc. These files are processed in numerical order as a component of GRUB2 creates the file grub.cfg. Kent's solution is to add to this directory a new file 07_rtai that scans for linux-rtai kernels and for them only creates boot menu entries including the "isolcpus=1" parameter. Kent uploaded a copy of this file at 07_rtai.