Unfortunate defaults for ngcgui demos

More
15 Mar 2014 22:43 - 15 Mar 2014 23:41 #44853 by pi.r
This is an issue that perhaps should be addressed to the developers of LinuxCNC , but as I consider myself a newbie in CNC (and consequently LinuxCNC) I'd better listen to what the community has to say first...

It's all about the ngcgui demo scripts that comes with the standard installation of LinuxCNC (~linuxcnc/nc_files/ngcgui_lib/). As I found some of the scripts quite useful, I have used them for "real cutting" on both my recently retrofitted 3-axis mills. Most of the times they perform just as expected, But on a few occasions there have bin some serious "glitches", where my cutter plunges straight down to the table at full speed (rapid move) the same moment as I press the "Run" button, although I carefully made a touch off at my piece surface just before start. As a rookie, I expect to make stupid mistakes causing this kind of actions, so I simply blamed the operator (me) the first times it happened.

The crashes happens within fractions of a second and seemingly by random without any visible indication in advance. Last time it happened I had a 6mm acrylic plate clamped to the table, and my 8mm endmill plunged strait through it and just started to dig in to the (aluminium) table - at 2000mm/s... If it was my colleague hitting the E-stop, or lack of power in my not so rigid mill, that made it come to stop is unclear... Very clear was the need to find out why and how this happens.