CNC Machine with Resolver (7i49)

More
28 Apr 2013 22:23 #33338 by simon n.
Hello,

i am a student from germany, so my english may be quite hard to understand, but i'll give it a try. :)

We are working on a project with a CNC machine recently. Its from Heller out of the 80's.

It is equipped with an old Sinumerik Sprint 8 M from Siemens for its control, we intend to exchange the Sinumerik with a PC which's OS is based on Ubuntu--> LinuxCNC. The CNC machine has 3 Axis (X-Y-Z) and 1 extra Axis for the component on the table to spin. The Position of the Axis (X,Y,Z) is monitored with a Resolver for each Axis. All drives (motor) are Servos.

Our Ubuntu Version is 10.04, we use EMC 2.5 and we downloaded the Life CD from this page (linuxcnc.org) and did the standard installation with it.

We use a 5i22 FPGA card with 4 Mesa daughtercards to handle the signals from the machine. We have 2 I/O cards --> 7i37, 1 encoder card --> 7i48 and 1 resolver card --> 7i49 connected to the FPGA card in the PCI socket.

We used the support software from mesanet.com for our FPGA card to handle the hostmot2. We already isolated a CPU just for LinuxCNC for a better performance in RT (better performance in latency test).

Right now we are trying to build a config with the Pncconfig wizard. in this wizard there are many parameters to set, we worked them through until it asked us wich firmware we want to use with our 5i22 and how many encoder/PWMgen/Stepgen we want to use with the daughtercards. Right next to it there is a sanity check displayed, but it does not contain the 7i49 resolver card. It ends with the 7i48 encoder card.

It also didn't ask for the number of resolver, it just wants to know how many encoder we want to use for our CNC machine.

We looked up the help function and it told us this:

RESOLVER - a resolver encoder counter
used with MESA 7i49 daughter board with special firmware
Some servos have resolvers rather then quadrature encoders