NEWS
2.6 Live+Install image

Announcing a new Live+Install DVD image for installing LinuxCNC 2.6 on Debian Wheezy. Instructions here.

 
LinuxCNC 2.6.3 is released

Several bugs fixed, see the change log.

 
LinuxCNC 2.6.2 Released

Bug fix see the change log.

 

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Forum Header

TOPIC: stepconf woes..

stepconf woes.. 21 May 2011 20:05 #9982

  • submicro
  • submicro's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: 1
Hello

Does anyone running a keling 3 axis kit with kl4030's and c10 breakout board wanna share they're .hal file so I can compare. I'm still unable to get my motors stepping. when in EMC using show hal configuration it shows my x,y,z pins as in not out??? I've tested my parallel port and i have +5v on pins 8 thru 12 but not on the rest.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 22 May 2011 00:43 #9983

  • cncbasher
  • cncbasher's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1234
  • Thank you received: 120
  • Karma: 63
pins voltages are not reliable as an indication , as some pins are bidirectional and therfore give the wrong voltages , the 5volts you are seeing are because the pins are classed as Inputs

can you post your hal file please , also which version of emc and ubunto are you using

Dave
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 22 May 2011 03:53 #9984

  • BigJohnT
  • BigJohnT's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 5903
  • Thank you received: 258
  • Karma: 158
Please read this page to understand the ins and outs of pins.

www.linuxcnc.org/docview/html/hal_basic_hal.html

John
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 22 May 2011 14:14 #9990

  • submicro
  • submicro's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: 1
i'm not sure how to post a file but here goes.... This attachment is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.


i'm using EMC2 2.4.6
linux kernel 2.6.32-122rtai
Attachments:
  • Attachment This attachment is hidden for guests. Please log in or register to see it.
Last Edit: 22 May 2011 14:16 by submicro.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 23 May 2011 00:27 #9991

  • cncbasher
  • cncbasher's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1234
  • Thank you received: 120
  • Karma: 63
i'd guess your problem is in the enable , if your using the enable lines to your stepper drivers , remove the wire and you should find it will work
have you connected the enable input ? or using the charge pump
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 23 May 2011 07:22 #9994

  • submicro
  • submicro's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: 1
I'm not using the enable lines, and I have the enable on the c10 jumpered. I'm not using a charge pump, I'm not sure what it is.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 23 May 2011 10:18 #10000

  • cncbasher
  • cncbasher's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1234
  • Thank you received: 120
  • Karma: 63
before running emc can you move the steppers in the axis configuration test in stepconf
also try inverting the step & direction pins
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 23 May 2011 10:40 #10002

  • submicro
  • submicro's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: 1
believe me i've tried that several times
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 24 May 2011 03:17 #10023

  • Rick G
  • Rick G's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 1337
  • Thank you received: 53
  • Karma: 82
In your Hal file it looks like you have
xdir on pin 3
ydir on pin 5
zdir on pin 7
With your meter you can check the voltage of those pins at the breakout board and when you change the direction that axis is moving back and forth it should change (0 to 5 volt or 5 to 0 volt).
This will at least show that EMC is working with the parallel port and cable.

Rick G
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:stepconf woes.. 24 May 2011 16:54 #10047

  • submicro
  • submicro's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: 1
I've measured the voltages at the cable and on the board for some reason they all read +5v with no change? I tried installing a parallel port card and I get the same results constant +5v on pins 2 thru 6.

The scope shows alot of ups n downs, I really don't know how to interpret it?

Robert
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 1.341 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum
© 2014 LinuxCNC.org
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.