10.04 installation with no internet access

More
18 Oct 2014 22:19 #52174 by cmtunnel
I'm trying to get internet access with a usb wireless adapter on my 10.04 machine. I tried many things ive read on the internet but no success yet. I am new to linux and i'm sure this is the real problem. I would appreciate it greatly if someone could help me through this. I am trying to get drivers loaded....there were downloaded linux drivers and the cd drivers that I could use with a wrapper i guess. My online pc is running 10.01. Please help!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Oct 2014 22:51 #52175 by ArcEye
Hi

What is the USB adaptor?

They generally tend to be very problematic and are best avoided.
Apart from anything else, as soon as your CNC machine is running, the 'noise' from the motors and spindle will probably knock out the connection.

A very good alternative is two 'home-plugs' and a wired ethernet connection

Mine work 200 ft from the house and give me full speed broadband

regards

More
18 Oct 2014 23:51 #52176 by cmtunnel
The usb adapter is the hardware that plugs into the usb port and provides the pc with the wireless connection. I already have this adapter and want to use it. I only need it to work at times when im putting new software on the pc so no problem with interference. My problem is getting the drivers installed on the offline pc. I looked on this site and found what looks like will work but I can't download the software for aptoncd. I think i need to load the drivers on the offline pc with dependencies and whatever else needed to make it work on the other machine but i haven't been able to make it work yet. Suggestions??

beatofthegeek.com/2011/07/aptoncd-tutori...-to-backup-your.html

More
19 Oct 2014 00:45 #52177 by ArcEye

The usb adapter is the hardware that plugs into the usb port and provides the pc with the wireless connection.

No s**t!

Does it have a maker and model number?

More