What am I missing? Do I must have parallel port ?

More
17 Oct 2014 02:05 #52144 by jorge.briceno92
Hello, I'm new at LinuxCNC, I already installed both versions 2.5 and 2.6 (after couple hours since I'm not a Linux user) the first in a laptop ASUSN55SF with a dedicated hard drive for linux with ubuntu 14 and windows 8 boot options alongside linux cnc2.5, linuxcnc 2.6 is curruntly installed in a desktop computer asus cm3870 .

Issue:
Can't even open the software, it always gets me and error.
setupwizzards are working fine.

This are my questions:

Do I must have a parallel connected to the pc? is there other way to control stepper motors with linuxCNC that parallel port in't needed?

here is a LOG of the errors I'm getting:
docs.google.com/document/d/1t3qqOTHs4HB_...fF8/edit?usp=sharing

tried to change memory value but it wasn a solution

* - memlock 20480

*** the setup that I have is wrong, I havent set up the real configuration values for the steppers, and I still looking for a controller card, I just want to know the interface and get familiared to make a school project***

THANK YOU.
Saludos desde México.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Oct 2014 02:24 #52146 by alan_3301
look at this:

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?LockedMemory

You can use a laptop for simulation but I don't think it will work for controlling a machine.

Yes you either need a parallel port or a pci card for an interface.

More
17 Oct 2014 15:06 #52155 by Rick G
Take a look here...
wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?Instal...the_LinuxCNC_Live_CD
linuxcnc.org/index.php?option=com_conten...=21&Itemid=4&lang=en
Several documents as well as getting started guide...
www.linuxcnc.org/index.php/english/documentation

To learn the software you can just boot from the live CD and run a sample configuration in simulator mode without even installing or creating your own configuration.

Rick G

More
17 Oct 2014 20:05 #52157 by andypugh