Stepper/Servo Control

More
01 Aug 2014 11:59 - 02 Aug 2014 06:05 #49375 by Gilgamesh
Hi:

I'm new with linux CNC and I've been reaserching a lot about stepper/servo control with linuxcnc, unfortunately, I have not found anything related so far. All the articles talk about milling machines, lathes, etc. in a very advanced fashion, but nothing related with steppers or servos directly. Bottom line, my questions:

1.- What kind of hardware is used to interface the computer (laptop in my case) with the servo?
2.- Is there any tutorial for servomotor control?

Thanks in advance!
Last edit: 02 Aug 2014 06:05 by Gilgamesh.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
01 Aug 2014 18:23 #49389 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Stepper/Servo Control
Laptops are not used to control servos due to hardware battery saving features which make real time control impossible.

I don't really understand your second question.

JT

More
02 Aug 2014 06:08 #49423 by Gilgamesh
Replied by Gilgamesh on topic Stepper/Servo Control

Sorry for that, the question was edited. What i meant was if there is some tutorial to control a servomotor or a stepper.

More
02 Aug 2014 20:10 #49437 by BigJohnT
Replied by BigJohnT on topic Stepper/Servo Control
I don't know of any overall tutorials other than the LinuxCNC manuals. I have some tutorials on my web site that cover bits and pieces of many things. Usually CNC tutorials are broken up into smaller tutorials that focus on a single subject as the general topic can be so vast and almost impossible to cover in a single tutorial.

wiki.linuxcnc.org/
linuxcnc.org/index.php/english/documentation
gnipsel.com/linuxcnc/index.html

JT

More
02 Aug 2014 22:50 #49443 by tenaja
Replied by tenaja on topic Stepper/Servo Control

Sorry for that, the question was edited. What i meant was if there is some tutorial to control a servomotor or a stepper.

What aspect of "control"?