A big thanks to this community!

More
29 May 2014 12:17 #47502 by davidbraley
I just wanted to say THANK YOU to all who make this possible. I know that people who work so hard on something rarely hear good news. So consider this post a two thumbs up!

I'm very new to LinuxCNC and I was amazed how easy it was to get a modest system up and running. Because my hardware is older (but still capable), I started with a clean install of Xubuntu 12.04.4. I felt the lighter weight window manager and a system with a lot less "Stuff" installed would be helpful. I then carefully followed the instructions here:

wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?LinuxCNC_On_Ubuntu_Precise

and installed a "2.6-rt" development version.

The installation on the computer control end of everything seems to be working well. No issues what so ever. I even ran the latency test several times, and was pleased to find my old hardware is playing well with the system.

So again, THANK YOU ALL!!!! B)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 May 2014 13:36 #47506 by cmorley
Well we are certainly glad everything worked well for you.
Nice to hear about it too, Thanks.

Please feel free to pay it forward, by helping where you can (like answering others questions on the forum)
It certainly helps to have an active user group.

Chris M

More
29 May 2014 18:50 #47514 by BigJohnT
I'm glad you got that working.

What's the difference between Ubuntu and Xubuntu? I looked at some screen shots of Xubuntu and didn't really see much difference but I use Ubuntu 10.04.

JT

More
29 May 2014 19:08 - 29 May 2014 19:09 #47516 by mozmck
If you use Ubuntu 12.04 or later you will certainly see the difference. The newer Ubuntu comes with their new "Unity" interface that is one of these made to work on a cell phone (because the desktop is obsolete you know), and is not so great for doing actual work on a desktop. Xubuntu gives you a familiar desktop and is also a little faster and less bloated.